jean patchwork bedspread quilt Maria Chenut

I made my first quilt! (one of the beauties of aging…. you end up doing things you never thought you would!)

Our Upcycling Meet-up group collects jeans so I had a great source to scavenge different shades of blue. I cut 4 inch strips over the period of several weeks. I decided to lay out on the ground the old quilt that would serve as the batting and compose on top of it. In this way I could add pieces and get a good sense of the balance of blues over the whole piece.jean patchwork bedspread quilt Maria Chenut jean patchwork bedspread quilt Maria Chenut jean patchwork bedspread quilt Maria Chenut jean patchwork bedspread quilt Maria Chenut

I played around and moved pieces so the rhythm of different size pieces would be more interesting. Also I included small pieces of other blue fabrics and special indigo scraps from Vietnam, Japan and Africa. I carefully sewed the long strips together in order and then the strips to each other, opening all the seams with the iron so the pieces lay down flat. The backing is a nice blue speckled king size sheet.

Finally, to hold the layers together I found a great embroidery thread that had different shades of blue, so I played tying different tones in different parts of the quilt.

jean patchwork bedspread quilt Maria Chenut

 

